Do you know…

Do you know…

that Nebraska is in North Carolina? Yup, Nebraska is an unincorporated community in Hyde County (near Cape Hatteras National Seashore). Other N.C. places that share names with sites elsewhere include Minneapolis (Avery County), Bolivia (Brunswick County) and Peru (Onslow County). North Carolina also has its share of humorous and odd place names, including Chuckle (Wilkes County), Elf (Clay County) and Hairtown (Harnett County). For additional names, visit

Share this article

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest.