NC Co-ops Position for a Brighter Future - Carolina Country

NC Co-ops Position for a Brighter Future

Statewide annual meeting focuses on innovation and service

NC Co-ops Position for a Brighter Future

Leadership staff and directors from North Carolina’s electric cooperatives met in Raleigh this April for the 2019 Statewide Annual Meeting. The event provided an opportunity to compare notes and share success stories from around the state, with speakers and presentations addressing the meeting theme, “Energy Solutions for a Brighter Future.”


Gov. Roy Cooper spoke on issues important to electric co-ops.

A young leader panel focused on the opportunities electric co-ops provide young people in their communities. The panel included Caitlin Finley, the Youth Leadership Council scholarship recipient from Blue Ridge Energy; Victoria Baskett, a Miss NC STEM Scholarship recipient; and Qua’Zavion Johnson, a recent Cooperative Leadership Camp participant.

“There are so many co-ops in this room doing so many wonderful things in their communities,” Finley said. “But many students just don’t know about them … It’s important to get the word out there that co-ops have these opportunities.”

North Carolina Governor Roy Cooper addressed attendees at the Rural Electric Action Program (REAP) political action committee breakfast. His remarks touched on several issues important to electric co-ops and their members, including rural broadband access, education, healthcare and disaster recovery.

“[Electric co-ops] are the backbone of rural North Carolina,” Gov. Cooper said. “I’m grateful for what you do.”

Paul Spruill

Paul Spruill

Who’s Who at the Annual Meeting


The following were elected to 2019–2020 board leadership positions:

NCEMC (power supply):

President Paul Spruill, Tideland EMC; Vice President Greg Puckett, Surry-Yadkin EMC; Secretary-Treasurer Susan Flythe, Cape Hatteras EC.

NCAEC (co-op services):

President Max Walser, EnergyUnited; Vice President Jeffrey T. Clark, Jones-Onslow EMC; Secretary-Treasurer Suzy Morgan, Wake Electric.

Max Walser

Max Walser

TEMA (material supply):

District I, Greg Andress, Union Power; District II, Columbus Jeffers, Roanoke EC; District III, Calvin Duncan, Brunswick Electric.


The North Carolina Association of Electric Cooperatives awards three scholarships each year to Youth Tour participants from the past year:

  • Wesley Cowand (South River EMC) received the Katie Bunch Memorial Scholarship
  • Isa Lu (Four County EMC) received the Gwyn B. Price Memorial Scholarship
  • Caitlin Finley (Blue Ridge Energy) received the Youth Leadership Council Scholarship.

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest.

Like this?

Share it with others