A Brighter Future

Electric cooperative delegates look at how partnerships help communities prosper.

AMlogo lg

—Photos by Randy Berger


Founding president Tony Habit explained how the NC New Schools program has placed North Carolina first in the nation in blending late high school and early college educational experiences for students.


Six-term State Rep. David Lewis, Republican of Harnett County, briefed the meeting on tax reform and other achievements and plans at the General Assembly.


Morgan Dunn of Sampson County received the Gwyn B. Price Memorial Scholarship.

Board members, managers and key staff of North Carolina's electric cooperatives in early April focused on how cooperatives have contributed to their communities as well as on new initiatives for the progress of those communities. More than 400 cooperative representatives attended the annual meeting of their statewide organizations in Raleigh.

Referring to how electric cooperatives introduce technological options to their consumer-members, CEO Joe Brannan of the North Carolina Electric Membership Corporation told the co-op delegates, "You are the leaders in this state when it comes to engaging your members and your communities."

The meeting's theme of "Community Partnerships for a Brighter Future" resounded in presentations on education, economic development, state government policy, and the opportunities for and achievements of young citizens.

Statewide leaders elected

The following were elected to 2014–2015 board leadership positions in the cooperatives' statewide organizations.

NCEMC (power supply):

President Mitchell L. Keel
Four County EMC

Vice President Mark A. Suggs,
Pitt & Greene EMC

Secretary-Treasurer Dale F. Lambert,
Randolph EMC

NCAEC (co-op services):

President Jeffrey B. Joines,
Blue Ridge Electric

Vice President Carl W. Kornegay,
Tri-County EMC

Secretary-Treasurer Susan E. Flythe,
Cape Hatteras Electric

  • Share this story:

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest.

Like this?


Share it with others