Now Available: License Plate Honoring Lineworkers - Carolina Country

Now Available: License Plate Honoring Lineworkers

‘Keeping the Lights On’ specialty license plate is now available to NC drivers

Now Available: License Plate Honoring Lineworkers

A new specialty license plate honoring the efforts of North Carolina’s utility lineworkers to “Keep the Lights On” is now available to the state’s drivers. The cost of the new plate is $30, with $20 from each plate benefiting the North Carolina Jaycee Burn Center at UNC Heath Care. A personalized version of the plate can be obtained for $60.

NCPlate Lineman

A custom license plate, featuring a lineman and benefitting the UNC Burn Center, is now available to NC drivers.

The plate was developed by North Carolina’s Electric Cooperatives in partnership with Duke Energy and ElectriCities to pay tribute to the state’s lineworkers and other utility employees. Last year, the N.C. General Assembly passed legislation that was signed into law by Gov. Roy Cooper authorizing the new plate. It was designed by Erin Binkley, digital media strategist for Carolina Country magazine.

“This new plate is a great way to honor our lineworkers while also supporting the life-saving work of the Burn Center, which is a long-time partner of our state’s electric co-ops,” said Paul Mott, grassroots specialist for North Carolina’s Electric Cooperatives, who coordinated efforts to establish the new plate.

LicensePlate real

The new license plate is already proudly displayed on cars across the state.

North Carolina’s electric cooperatives have supported the North Carolina Jaycee Burn Center since 1972 when the cooperatives’ board of directors pledged $40,000 to help create the center. Over the years, the electric cooperatives, in partnership with more than 80 organizations and individuals, have donated nearly $2 million to the center, helping it become one of the leading comprehensive burn centers in the world.

To apply for the new plate, complete the license plate application (PDF) and submit it to the address listed on the top of the application, along with payment. If you are within 90 days of updating your vehicle registration, the plate will be sent once your new registration is processed. The new license plate is available to all motor vehicles registered in North Carolina, except for vehicles for-hire, commercial plates over 26,000 lbs., farm tags, taxis, state-owned vehicles or vehicles with orange and black plates.

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest.